Shailesh J. Mehta School of Management, IIT Bombay - [SJMSOM], Mumbai - Reviews

Mumbai, Maharashtra AICTE Estd 1995 Public 17 Questions Answered Ranked 13 For MBA By The Week 2020 +3 more

College Rating

Based on 26 Students RatingClaim this college

7.2 out of 10
7.3/10Academic
6.5/10Accommodation
7.8/10Faculty
7.4/10Infrastructure
7.3/10Placement
6.6/10Social Life
Filter By
StreamCourse TagCourseBatch
SORT BY :
Relevance

Management (25)
Engineering (1)
Campus (17)
School (17)
Hostel (15)
Management (13)
Experience (12)
Faculty (12)
Knowledge (12)
Package (12)
Research (10)
Network (9)
Fee Structure (6)
Finance (4)
Placement Process (4)
Course Curriculum (3)
Loan Facility (3)

26 Reviews found


YP
8.8 /10

Admission :

My application was done on the entrance exam mode. I took the CAT entrance exam and fill out the application form online and then I took the Written Ability Test (WAT). I cleared the WAT then I went through a personal interview.

Placement Experience :

There is a 100% placement in our college. The placement cell in our college guide and train the graduating students for campus placement. The highest salary package offered was Rs.32.4 LPA and the average was Rs.20.8 LPA.

10 /10 faculty
9 /10 placement
8 /10 social life
9 /10 course
8 /10 hostel
9 /10 campus life
report
Read More
DG
9.5 /10

Remarks :

The infrastructure of our college is nice. My overall experience at this college was great. The campus life was good too, there are different types of clubs to join in our college, which organizes various activities which were a very good experience for me.

10 /10 faculty
9 /10 placement
9 /10 social life
9 /10 course
10 /10 hostel
10 /10 campus life
report
Read More
B
5.8 /10

Remarks :

Overall it is good to stay at IIT Bombay because instead of mugging up or getting into job or something you will learn yourself here, your strengths and weakness.

9 /10 faculty
4 /10 placement
8 /10 social life
9 /10 course
2 /10 hostel
3 /10 campus life
report
Read More
PM
6.8 /10

Remarks :

The college is good the faculties are willing to teach but the student section is very bad the do not even listen to students problems. Also the infrastructure of college is great. Fans in some of the classes are working and benches are comfortable. The college is excellent but they need to focus on management.

7 /10 faculty
7 /10 placement
5 /10 social life
8 /10 course
6 /10 hostel
8 /10 campus life
report
Read More
VN
7.7 /10

Remarks :

So the gender ration and diversity along the students are equally distributed. Apart from that the students from all the region and religion are comes to our college and also the students from the east India are also studying here. So it was always good to stay learn and play with the person with other specialty. Apart from the regular curriculum there was many campaigner there in my college

8 /10 faculty
9 /10 placement
7 /10 social life
7 /10 course
8 /10 hostel
7 /10 campus life
report
Read More
RM
7.0 /10

Entrance Preview :

I choose this course as compare to other, because i love marketing in relation to admission process, i want there should not any interview and reservation, Admission should be fully based on merit list.

Campus Life :

To nurture intellectual capital by leveraging on research, teaching, consultancy and collaborations within the IIT Bombay eco-system and beyond. The building has air-conditioned classrooms and seminar rooms with a ‘U’ shaped design to facilitate discussions and debates.

7 /10 faculty
7 /10 placement
6 /10 social life
8 /10 course
6 /10 hostel
8 /10 campus life
report
Read More

Shailesh J. Mehta School of Management, IIT Bombay - [SJMSOM], Mumbai : 17 answered questions

VIEW ALL

Ques. Which one should I choose between IIM Kozhikode or IIT Bombay SJMSOM? Why?

● Top Answer By Aaditya Hari Nair on 21 Sept 21

Ans. My brother is an alumnus at IIM Kozhikode. A few years back, he was in the same dilemma that you are right now. Keeping in mind the brand value and the long-term return, he opted for it.  In the last few years, SJMSOM is performing well. Apart from the brand value that IIM Kozhikode adds, there are many other advantages of graduating from here. If you pursue your MBA from SJMSOM, you will be introducing yourself as an MBA grad from IIT Bombay.  Even though IIT B has a management branch, it is primarily a B.Tech college. Hence, the faculties and college life mostly depend on the engineering curriculum. The faculties of IIM Kozhikode have better industry knowledge. The visiting faculties are among the best in the industry. Even though in term short, both are at par; the tag of an IIM will give you long-term benefit. IIM Kozhikode also has a good placement record. In the 2021 placements, the average CTC offered at the institute was 22 LPA.  Additionally, IIM K has the most beautiful campus among all the IIMs.Read more
0
0
1 Answer
●●●

Ques. Which college is better IIM Kozhikode or SJMSOM? I have a work experience of 23 months with average academics.

● Top Answer By Aaditya Hari Nair on 15 Sept 21

Ans. Definitely, both the B-Schools are great but IIMK should be your first choice. Unless we are discussing Operation then I would advise you to opt for SJMSOM. You will have trouble with placements due to your average academics as most of your peers will have better academic records. You will always get opportunities to make your profile better. You can improve your profile by winning competitions, holding significant PORs, and getting an excellent grade in your MBA programme.  Even if you don’t get your desired placement, you can excel in the job and leverage your performance in the corporate world along with the IIM alumni network on your side. That way you will be able to fetch better opportunities a few years later.  Here are the recent placement highlights for the institutes.  Parameters  IIM Kozhikode SJMSOM Average CTC  22.5 LPA  21 LPA  Highest CTC  46 LPA  32 LPA Major recruiters  Asian Paints, Amazon, Brain & Co. JCB, Infosys, Flipkart IIM Kozhikode definitely offers certain advantages which makes it a superior choice. Read more
0
0
1 Answer
●●●

Ques. Should I join IIM Indore or SJMSOM?

● Top Answer By Aaditya Hari Nair on 28 Aug 21

Ans. My cousin recently graduated from SJMSOM and has begun working at Fidelity Investments as a Delivery Manager for almost 3 years now. He suggests going for SJMSOM only if,  You essentially prefer studying amidst a comparably smaller batch size. You further want to be at the Financial Capital, for either internships or job purposes. You prefer going for the best infrastructure and basic amenities. You can enjoy the brand value likewise. You can opt for IIM Indore only if you prefer the following, You are confident that you can compete and stand out with a larger batch.  You will receive the major brand value that comes along with IIMs. You want to secure a seat at one of the best management institutes. However, the placements of either institute are somewhat similar, with relevant recruiters visiting both campuses occasionally during placement seasons. Both the institutes offer exchange opportunities as per schedule. Here is a brief overview of both SJMSOM and IIM Indore.  Institute  SJMSOM IIM Indore  Average CTC  20 LPA 20 LPA  Highest CTC  26 LPA  32 LPA Major recruiters  Yes Bank, Goldman Sachs, OLA, Wipro  PwC, BCG, Microsoft, MX Player Both institutes are reputed so take a call based on your personal preference. Read more
0
0
1 Answer
●●●

Ques. Which one to choose SJMSOM or IIM Indore?

● Top Answer By Sandip Pal on 24 Aug 21

Ans. Both SJMSOM and IIM Indore are distinguished B-Schools in this league. IIM is a brand name on its own and offers certain perks that make it a better choice.  Specialization: SJMSOM is known for its Operations and IT/Analytics/Consulting. Most of the students remain confused in choosing their specialization and tend to delve into their options at the end of their first year. This can be quite helpful if you want to explore your options in the first year and then choose a specialization.  Placements: The factor that affects placements is the batch size. The less the batch size the more efficiently and steadily the placements are done with. Often IIM Indore completes their placement before SJMSOM and other IIMs. However, the competition at IIM Indore is high. According to the recent placement highlights the average CTC offered at SJMSOM and IIM Indore is 20 LPA and 23 LPA.  Campus: IIM Indore has a splendid campus situated out of the city. The campus is huge and is one of the best campuses in India. At SJMSOM, the campus is to be shared with engineering students. However, this is not much of a problem for students. IIM Indore also provides more extracurricular opportunities. Hopefully, this would be helpful for you in making the right choice.Read more
0
0
1 Answer
●●●

Ques. Which college should I join, SJMSOM or NITIE or IIM-I?

● Top Answer By Aaditya Hari Nair on 20 Aug 21

Ans. After doing some research on the internet, I would say that NITIE, SJMSOM, and IIM-I have their own pros and cons.  Students with good academic records prefer to join IIM Indore rather than NITIE and SJMSOM.  But there will be more opportunities available during the summer placement in NITIE and SJMSOM.  In order to get a good placement in the final year, you must convert the opportunity into PPO/PPI. If you are more inclined towards marketing and finance then IIM Indore will be good for you, as it will provide better opportunities than NITIE and SJMSOM. If you are passionate about Supply chain and Operations then NITIE is the place to be. NITIE being in the financial capital of India offers a location advantage as compared to IIM Indore. The below table can provide you with the basic information about them. Category NITIE SJMSOM IIM Indore Recruiters Dabur, ITC, Johnson & Johnson, Marico, etc. Amazon, Deloitte, Cadbury, Axis Bank, etc. Abbott, Flipkart, Network18, Accenture, etc. Average CTC INR 20.88 LPA INR 21.96 LPA INR 23.6 LPA Lowest CTC INR 20.7 LPA INR 22.00 LPA INR 6.00 LPA Highest CTC INR 58.2 LPA INR 32.80 LPA INR 41.5 LPA Therefore, choosing NITIE, SJMSOM or IIM Indore depends on you and in which field you want to make your career. It will be completely your decision, so play along your strengths.Read more
0
0
1 Answer
●●●

Comments



No Comments To Show

Similar Colleges

MBA/PGDM 7.9 7.28 LFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
BBA/BBM 7.8 4.95 LFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
MBA/PGDM 7.9 9.60 LFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES

News

Second article by bijay
August 13, 2021
Second article by bijay

tart writing In order to get ranked, you need to have content. A very important step in how to start with your SEO is to write amazing content for all these search terms you want to be found for. The content analysis in the Yoast SEO plugin will help you to write that content. Our ana

IIM CAT 2020 Application Window(Open), Make Changes till Sept 29; Get Direct Link here
September 27, 2020
IIM CAT 2020 Application Window(Open), Make Changes till Sept 29; Get Direct Link here

CAT 2020 application form edit window has been opened today September 27, 2020 10 AM onwards. Read the article to know all about CAT 2020 Application Form Correction and get direct link. Candidates who wish to make any changes in their CAT 2020 Application Form can do it online till 5 PM of Septe

CAT 2020: Application Ends September 23 by 5pm, Register Now @iimcat.ac.in, Details Here
September 23, 2020
CAT 2020: Application Ends September 23 by 5pm, Register Now @iimcat.ac.in, Details Here

Aspirants who intend to register for CAT 2020 can still apply by today, September 23, 2020 (5 pm) at iimcat.ac.in. Read the details below. Indian Institutes of Management (IIMs) will end the application process Common Admission Test (CAT) 2020 by 5 pm on September 23, 2020. MBA aspirants who

CAT Exam Pattern 2020 Revised by IIM Indore: Check Latest Updates!
September 21, 2020
CAT Exam Pattern 2020 Revised by IIM Indore: Check Latest Updates!

In the media release issued by IIM Indore on September 15, 2020, not only was CAT 2020 registration extended till September 23, but also new changes were introduced in CAT exam pattern.  CAT 2020 is scheduled to be conducted on November 29, 2020 (Sunday) in three sessions. Check CAT 2020 Exa

Parent College In This Group

interested in this College ?

Top Courses
MBA Finance AVG FEE - ₹ 480,650/Yr
2 Years
MBA Operations AVG FEE - ₹ 480,650/Yr
2 Years
MBA AVG FEE - ₹ 480,650/Yr
2 Years
Placements
Highest Package 3,240,000
Average Package 2,080,000
company
company
company
company
company
company
Faculties
Mr. Anand Patwardhan Professor, Department Of Management Studies
Prof. Arti D. Kalro Assistant Professor, Department Of Management Studies
Dr. Ashish Singh Assistant Professor, Department of Management