Anand Agricultural University (AAU), formerly known as Gujarat Agricultural University (GAU), is a State University affiliated to The Indian Council of Agricultural Research (ICAR), New Delhi. The University is well known for making a partnership between the villagers and interested students as the basic needs for rural development through its various programs. AAU offers Undergraduate, Postgraduate and Doctoral programs such as B.Tech, M.Tech, and other polytechnic programs. Students get placed in reputed and prestigious companies like Cadbury, Coca-Cola, Wagh Bakri, Vadilal, Britannia, Pepsico, Rasanand, etc. The median salary offered to AAU students ranges between 3.5 to 4.5 LPA.

AAU Highlights

Established | Type 2004 | State
Type State
Affiliation ICAR (New Delhi) & UGC
Campus Setting | Area Urban |743 acres
Selection criteria Entrance based
Entrance exam  GUJCET
Courses Offered | Type B.Tech and M.Tech | UG, PG, and Ph.D
Affiliations  - 7 colleges - 17 research centers - 6 extension centers
Address Anand Agricultural University
Anand- 388110, Gujarat, India
Anand Agricultural University contact details (Office) +91-2692-261310
Fax: +91-2692-261310

Anand Agricultural University (AAU) Courses

Under Anand Agricultural University Admission 2019, the university provides many UG, PG & Polytechnic level courses in various disciplines & its specializations such as Agriculture, Dairy Science, Veterinary Science & Animal Husbandry, Food Processing Technology, Bio-Energy, Agricultural Engineering & Technology, Agribusiness Management, and Agricultural Information Technology and many more.

Read More: AAU Fee Structure.

AAU Admissions

Admission to Anand Agricultural University is based both on entrance exams and merits obtained by the applicant in the qualifying examination.

  • For Undergraduate Admissions: 10+2 with science stream and English as a compulsory subject + GUJCET marks.
  • For Postgraduate Admissions: 4 Years Bachelor’s degree in B.Tech. (FPT) / B.Tech. (Agril. Engg. / B.Tech. (DFT) / B.Tech. (DT) with minimum O. G. P. A. of not less than 6.00.
  • For Ph.D. Admissions: Master's degree in the concerned disciplines of Food Technology Faculty.

The admission of the candidates will be decided by the admission committee based on the seats available in each subject. The decision of the admission committee shall be final. Admissions shall be given at the beginning of odd semester only, subject to the intake capacity and other infrastructure facilities available at the respective university.

AAU Placements

The college has training and placement cell who look after all the training-related activities. The cell performs various activities such as:

  • In-plant training
  • Industrial visit
  • Placements

The cell places many students every year who participate in the placement process. Here are some stats from the NIRF 2019 reports, which show the no. of students who opted for the placement process and got placed and students who opted for higher studies.

Year No. of Students Graduated No. of Students Placed No. of Students opted for higher studies
2015-16 UG: 248
PG: 159
UG: 60
PG: 47
UG: 140 
PG: 45
2016-17 UG: 344
PG: 151
UG: 113
PG: 64
UG: 151
PG: 32
2017-18 UG: 372
PG: 158
UG: 148
PG: 59
UG: 74
PG: 35

Median Salary offered:

Anand Agricultural University Placements

The median salary has seen a sudden fall in AAU placements. In 2016 and 2017, the CTC offered to Postgraduate students was 4.2 Lacs and 4.8 Lacs but in the year 2018, the LPA remained at 0.53 Lacs which is a very small amount. On the other hand, Undergraduate placements has seen a continuous boom in CTC offered to them. The CTC is increasing year by year and in 2018 where PG placements saw a sudden fall, Undergraduate placements have seen a sudden hick.

Anand Agricultural University (AAU) Top recuiters: Abbott, Austin, ManPasand, Cadbury, Coca-Cola, Wagh Bakri, Vadilal, Britannia, Pepsico, Rasanand, Safal, Parle, IDMC, Amul, Omfed, Nestle, etc.

AAU Faculty

Faculty of Aanand Agricultural University is divided into different departments where they impart their knowledge to students. Most of the faculty members are Ph.D. holders or least hold a Master’s degree in their relevant field. Here is department-wise list of faculty members:

  • Dr. K.B. Kathiria
    • Designation: Principal and Dean
  • R. F. Sutar
    • Designation: Professor & Head
    • Qualification: Ph.D.
    • Department: Post Harvest Engineering & Technology
  • S. H. Akbari
    • Designation: Associate Professor
    • Qualification: Ph.D.
    • Department: Post Harvest Engineering & Technology
  • A. Nema
    • Designation: Assistant Professor
    • Qualification:  Ph.D.
    • Department: Post Harvest Engineering & Technology
  • S.V. Anadani
    • Designation: Sr. Research Assistant
    • Qualification: M Tech
    • Department: Post Harvest Engineering & Technology
  • S. S. Kapdi
    • Designation: Professor & Head
    • Qualification: Ph.D
    • Department: Bio-Energy
  • H. Pandey
    • Designation: Associate Professor & Head
    • Qualification:  Ph.D.
    • Department: Food Processing Technology
  • S. Dutta
    • Designation: Associate Professor & Head
    • Qualification: Ph.D.
    • Department: Food Business Management
  • A. K. Sharma 
    • Designation: Professor & Head
    • Qualification: Ph.D.
    • Department: Food Engineering

Why join Anand Agricultural University (AAU)?

  • The University is known as a new wave pioneer of universities in agricultural education.  The university has created a benchmark for top-notch quality education.
  • S.M.C denotes the faculty of dairy science. College of Dairy Science, known as "Center of Excellence" which is enhanced by qualified dairy professionals.
  • The University is at the top level in the University for Agriculture.
  • The University helps the students who are keen to have a higher degree and do research in any area of study. The scholarships and awards are given based on merit list and other related areas. Some students gained international exposure with international universities such as Albert-Ludvig University, Freiburg, Germany, Katholieke University, Leuven, Belgium, University of Vilnius, Vilnius, Lithuania, etc.