Barkatullah University Bhopal (BU) is a state government-funded university. It was established in the year 1970 with the name Bhopal University. Its name was later changed in 1988 to give tribute to freedom fighter Barkatullah. BU Bhopal is situated in the capital of Madhya Pradesh, Bhopal.

The university has an area of 360 acres with 4 hostels for boys and a hostel for girls. It is accredited with grade B by ‘NAAC’. Barkatullah provides undergraduate, postgraduate and PhD programs to the students.

The alumni of BU Bhopal consist of following renowned personalities:

  1. Hassan Sheikh Mohamud, former President of Somalia
  2. Pamposh Bhat, environmentalist and recipient of the Rajbhasha Award for Poetry
  3. Rahat Indori, poet and Bollywood lyricist
  4. Shivraj Singh Chouhan, Former Chief Minister Of Madhya Pradesh

BU Bhopal Overview

Location Bhopal, Madhya Pradesh
Type Public University
Accreditation Grade B University Accredited by NAAC
Area 360 acres
Hostel 4 for boys 1 for girls

Barkatullah University Courses

BU offers students with under graduation as well as post-graduation degree. For different discipline the eligibility criteria is different. Therefore, we have tabulated a list of courses provided by the university along with its eligibility.

Note: We have only listed the number of courses the university provides and not the specializations. So the eligibility criteria may differ for a specialization.

Programs Courses Offered Eligibility Criteria
Under Graduate Program B.E JEE scores accepted l Admission through DTE guidelines
B.A L.L.B 10+2 with 45% minimum for general and OBC category. l For SC\ST 40% minimum Marks.
B.Ed Graduation with 50% of marks. (Admission through Higher Education)
Post Graduate Program MA Graduation in the relevant discipline with minimum 50% marks
M.Com B. A Management, B.Com or B.B.A passed with a minimum of 50% marks.
M.Sc Passed B.Sc in the relevant discipline with a minimum of 50% marks.
M.Tech B.Tech\B.E\B.Sc passed with a minimum of 50% marks.
M.Pharm B.Pharm with a minimum of 50% marks
MBA Admission through DTE guidelines.

BU Bhopal Fees

Fees for BU Bhopal is listed below but note that the fees for each program are given in a range and it may vary with the specialization you choose. For the courses, no range is provided to understand that there is a uniformity in the fee structure.

Courses Fees (INR)
MA 4,000-22,000
MBA 20,000-23,000
L.L.M 15,500
B.A L.L.B 21,000
M.Sc 4,000-25,000
B.Pharm 43,050
M.Pharm 31,550
B.E 47,775
M.Tech 51, 450

Read about Barkatullah Bhopal Courses & Fee

Barkatullah Bhopal Admission Procedure

Apart from the selection criteria, there’s a lot to do before that. The student must know about the admission procedure and how to apply and what is required during the application procedure.

  • Applications forms are made available online on the university portal
  • Application fee differs for the different section of society.
  1. General\OBC will pay an amount of INR 300.
  2. SC\ST will pay an amount of INR 150.
  • The students can apply through MP Online Portal.
  • Reservation to SC, ST, OBC, Freedom Fighter, Physically Handicapped will be followed as per the rules of the state government i.e. M.P Government.
  • Candidates awaiting their final year result or in the final year can also apply but the entire admission procedure and confirmation of admission will be done when the candidates final year result will be out and when the candidate will pass all the eligibility criteria for the course they applied.
  • Paid applications will be accepted; unpaid applications will automatically be dumped or rejected.
  • University reserves the right to make changes in the advertised admission programme.

Click here BU Admission

BU Bhopal Scholarship

The university does not give any scholarship. However, the student can avail the scholarship that the Madhya Pradesh government provides. There are a number of scholarships given to the students who are listed below:

The students of the university can avail state scholarships:

  1. POST METRIC [SC Scholarship]
  2. POST METRIC [ST scholarship]
  3. POST METRIC [OBC Scholarship]
  4. Awas Sahayta [SC Category]
  5. Awas Sahayta [ST Category]
  6. Gaon Ki Beti Yojana
  7. Pratibha Kiran Scholarship Yojna
  8. Vikramaditya Scholarship Yojna
  9. Scholarship for PhD. Research
  10. Traffic funding for girl students

Also Check Barkatullah University Scholarship