TN Government Fractionates Anna University; Engineering Colleges to have a New Varsity

Aarushi Kalra logo

Aarushi Kalra

Exams Prep Master

The Tamil Nadu Government on September 16 passed a bill to divide Anna University. As per the bill, a new division of the varsity will comprise all the engineering colleges of the Tamil Nadu as the affiliated colleges of the University.

The existing Anna University will be renamed as- 'Anna Technological and Research University'. Colleges such as Guindy, The Madras Institute of Technology, A.C. College of Technology, School of Planning and Architecture, College of Engineering will be under the renamed ATRU. 

Also Read: AICTE Warns Anna University that not Conducting Exam Arrears can Lead to Consequences

The new entity of the University will have a separate Administrative structure and governing bodies. The decision to split the University was taken in December last year. Later a committee of 5 members was constituted to look into the possibilities of splitting Anna University.

The Higher Education Minister K.P. Anbalagan said that the university decided so for administrative reasons. Managing all the engineering colleges affiliated with Anna University is time-consuming and also requires energy from eminent professors.

Check Anna University Time Table 2020: UG PG Date Sheet, Hall Ticket/ Admit Card, Result

To ease down the process and concentrate on higher studies and research in engineering and technology, the TN government decided to convert the existing Anna University as a Unitary-type Institution by the name of 'Anna Technological and Research University', Anbalagan further informed.

Also Check Anna University Admission 2020 Details